Daily Archives: May 6th, 2013

The D.R.I.V.E. to be your best.

Welcome to another day here at 60 Seconds of Motivational Mojo.  I am here to encourage you.  I am here to help you believe in yourself.  I am here to help you chase your dreams.  I am chasing mine.  I want to be at my best.  I hope you would want to be at your best also.  To be at your best you need drive.  The D.R.I.V.E. to be your best.

D.R.I.V.E. equals Desire, Repetition, Intelligence, Value and Energy.  Let’s run it down quickly and then we can go in-depth.  Do you have something you desire to do?  Do you want to do this thing repeatedly or just once?  Do you have the intelligence or knowledge of how to do what you want to do?  Do you value the things you want to do?  Do you have the energy to chase the things you want to do?

D.R.I.V.E. the D stands for Desire.  Is there something in your life you would love to be doing?  I am not talking about empty wishes.  I am talking about something you really want to do in your life. Do you have the desire to chase this dream you have?  Will you give it 15 minutes a day or one day a week?  If you will not make the time to do the things you want to do, than you have no real desire. If you really want to do something you will find the time. Get it set in your mind; no one will do it for you.

D.R.I.V.E. the R stands for Repetition.  I have heard a lot of people say they wanted to do something; so they tried it once and when things did not go their way, they gave up. I would bet that Seventy to Eighty Percent of people have given up on their dreams because things did not go their way soon enough.  If you want to do something, you have to practice over and over again until you improve; and then you have to keep improving. You have to be willing to work hard, and hard work does not mean giving up after one or two tries.  If you have no real desire than you will not sweat out all the repetitions and practices to being your best.  If you have real desire you will.  So I guess desire and repetition go hand in hand.  Practice and keep practicing to become your best!

D.R.I.V.E. the I stands for Intelligence.  I have heard practice makes perfect and I have heard that perfect practice makes perfect.  I have heard work smarter not harder.  I have heard a lot of things I guess.  So here is how I sum this up.  Learn to work hard, and then learn to work smart.  Ask questions, look for clues, track your progress, and get a coach or a mentor.  Just because you have desire and you have put in a few repetitions does not mean you can not improve.  Every heard the term, heads up play?  That comes from studying whatever it is you want to do and preparing yourself mentality for the challenge at hand.  It may mean you run controlled experiments.  It may mean you shake thing up a bit to avoid falling into a rut.  Either way, things and times will change.  The question is will you grow from the change?  Never stop learning.  Add increased intelligence to your desire and your repetitions.

D.R.I.V.E. the V stands for Value.  Do you value what you do?  Do other people value want you do?  Do you notice; I do not ask what you want to own, I ask want do you want to do?  Do you value your hobby as much as you value your job?  Do you value the time you spend with your family and friends as much as you value the time you work.  Now flip it around.  Are you around people who value what you do?  No matter what your hobby or job is there is a C.E.O. somewhere who is running a company doing what you want to be doing.  They see the value, do you?  If you do not value yourself, if the people around you do not value you and each other, you will be fighting an uphill battle.  You have to be able to picture yourself at your best, and it has to hold some kind of value in your eyes.  Desire, Repetitions, Intelligence, now fully understand the Value that you add.

D.R.I.V.E. the E stands for Energy.  Look around you.  If you look closely you will see that Coffee Houses and Vitamin Stores are all around you.  People want that kick to keep them going.  Coffee, Tea, Soda, Energy Drinks, Energy Shots, Vitamin Packs, this stuff is everywhere.  Do you have the extra energy to do the things you want to do after you have done all the things you need to do?  I understand, bills have got to be paid.  The question is; Are you doing the things you want to do?  Have you found value in your hobbies?  Can you find the energy to transform your hobby into a source of income?  Listen we all live in the same 24 hour day, 7 day a week world.  Will you find the energy to be your best?

Remember, no one can do it for you.  The people who have not given up are way too busy trying to be their best.  If you are lucky or smart you will find someone who may coach you, but they must have a common goal with you.  If you do not have common goals and common ground with the people you are surrounded by, how can you become your best?  You will end up doing the things they want to do, not the things you want to do.  If you have the Desire, put in the Repetitions, continue to increase your Intelligence, Value what you are doing, and have the Energy to keep on pushing; then get around people headed in the same direction as you and your best will come out!

The D.R.I.V.E. to be your best.  Desire, Repetitions, Intelligence, Value and Energy; put them to work for you.  Stay focused and you will be at your best in no time at all.

