Daily Archives: May 10th, 2013

My smiles are real.

My smiles are real.

I have never learned to fake a smile.  My smiles are real.  When I laugh it is because I mean it.  If I smile it is real.  I have not learned to fake it.  Most of my smiles come from making my family smile.  I wish I could solve all the world’s problems, but I can’t.  So if I can make my wife smile, it makes me happy.

My smiles are real.  I think it is important for you to know if you can trust a smile.  I do not smile in anyone’s face and then stab them in the back.  I do not smile to impress people or sell anything.  I smile because I am happy.  I smile because I find something funny.  My smiles are real.

I have never learned to fake a smile.  My smiles are real.

How to find your dream job?

Are you working your dream job?  If so you can stop reading.  If not, what do you have to lose by reading this post?  I hope to explain to you quickly and clearly, how to find your dream job.

How to find your dream job?  Never stop looking.  Have I found my dream job yet?  The easy answer is “No,” but the only slightly harder answer is “I am getting closer everyday.”  Why, because I am always looking.  Sometimes you find out the job you have is not so bad, but you have to keep looking.

There are four types of Job Searches.  Not Looking, Passively Looking, Actively Looking and Aggressively Looking. If you are Aggressively Looking you are constantly looking at Job Boards, E-mailing, Calling and Taking Every last interview you can find.  You will take the next job offered to you.  You will not find your dream job this way; you are looking for your next job, not your dream job.  If you are Actively Looking you set aside designated times once a day, week or month and you are looking for leads and following up on the leads that show promise.  You may actually turn down an interview because you can tell the job is not a good fit, but you will more than likely go on more interviews than you turn down.  If you are Not Looking, then you are Not Really Trying.  You may say you are looking for a job, but if you have not posted your updated resume to a jobs board, have not e-mailed or called your short list of recruiters, or have not been on an interview in the past month or so; than you may tell your friends you are looking, but your are not really looking.  The best way to find your dream job is to always be Passively Looking for a job.

What do I mean by Passively Looking for a Job?  It means that you update and upload you resume to job boards on a regular basis of every 90 days or 6 months.  You add in you latest accomplishments and network with people on and off-line on a consistent basis.  You get a steady stream of leads, but you know what you are looking for; and may turn down 90% of the leads you get, because they are not a better fit than the position you currently hold.  You more than likely are happy at your current job but you are looking for your dream job.

So let’s do a quick recap of types of job searches:  Aggressively Looking, Actively Looking, Passively Looking and Not Looking.  People who are Aggressively Looking; more than likely do not like the job they hold or are out of work all together.  Aggressive Job seekers will take the first job offered to them, but they may come off as overly anxious or desperate.  That means they may settle for far less than they are worth.  People who are Actively Looking for a job may already have a job, but they know the need a change.  They may be working at a business that is going under, or have a contract that is running out.  They may be graduating school soon and then need to get out and get working at a new position.  Now Active Job Seekers want to feel like the job they find will put them on solid ground, they may agree to work a job they do not like for more money; but they will have to trade something like long hours or travel.  There is nothing wrong with being an active job seeker, but you have to ask are you just taking the job for the sake of taking the job?

Now people who say they are looking, but are not actively updating and posting their resumes and are not talking to recruiters, well they may believe they will find the job they are looking for through word of mouth.  This approach only works if you are around people who are doing what you want to be doing, and will put in a good word for you when they hear of a job.  The problem with this method is, most people will want the job for themselves, and you will get the left over leads.  That is if there are any left over leads.

So read this paragraph very closely.  The best way to find your dream job is to always be Passively Looking for your Dream Job.  Update your Resume every Three to Six Months with your latest Career Accomplishments.  Maintain a good Social Network with Recruiters and HR personnel.  This can be a mixture of Online and Offline networking, but stay in the mix.  You want to be fresh on the minds of the people who are looking to fill the job that you are seeking.  Make sure your resume and your online profile clearly state what your dream job is, and how you are grooming yourself to fit that job.  Also, find a couple people who are doing what you want to be doing and work with them in your spare time, or put in a little extra time.  A meeting once a month or so over lunch to talk about the things you would like to be doing can work wonders to getting you qualified and ready to move into that position.  You have to make up your mind that you will be ready to take your dream job, when it comes available.  If you are operating fully in Passive Job Search Mode, you will find yourself turning down leads if they are not a better fit for you than your current job.  You will also take more positive energy into the interviews you do pursue.  Be very careful and state very clearly, you are happy with your current job, but you may be a better fit somewhere else; or that you are ready to take on more responsibility.  You have to believe that your dream job is out there, and you will be ready for it when it comes available.

How to find you dream job.  Never stop looking.  Update your resume every three to six months.  Post it on jobs boards.  Maintain a good network of recruiters and HR personnel, and have regular meetings with your mentors even if it is once a month over lunch.  Never allow yourself to become desperate for a job.  You will find what you are looking for, but you have to be looking.