Daily Archives: May 15th, 2013

Choose to do good!

Welcome back to 60 Seconds of Motivational Mojo, where I do my best to try to get you to follow your dreams.  I also try to get you to find out the truth for yourself.  Now today, I say when ever you are faced with a choice, which is everyday; choose to do good.

Choose to do good!  Every situation creates three choices, Do Good, Do Nothing or Do Evil.  My answer is, choose to do good.  Have you heard of the battle between light and darkness?  Why do we believe such lies?  There is no battle between light and darkness.  Light always wins.  There is no magic shadow that can conquer light.  So why do we believe that there is a choice between Doing Good, Doing Nothing and Doing Evil.  I have heard it said, “Evil wins when good people do nothing.”  I would like to challenge that statement.  Good people have to do something to be good.  You have to choose to do good.

How many times have you heard someone say, “I am not as bad as … fill in the blank?”  I say fill in the blank because this is an empty statement.  Doing nothing does not make you better than anyone else.  Doing nothing does not make you good; it means that you choose to do nothing.  That is a pretty easy choice.  I am not saying you have to try to be all things to all people; that is impossible.  I am saying choose to do good!

How many times have you heard that “Might makes right?”  How many times have you heard that the “Ends justify the means?”  Now, let me challenge those statements.  Might does not make right; the truth is what makes things right.  The end also does not justify the means, the means justify themselves.  There should be no illusion of a battle between Good and Evil, but there is; because of the aforementioned statements.  If evil is mighty and well armed and good people are unarmed and afraid, then evil wins.  This is why warlords use might instead of truth to take over a society.

When people know the truth they must choose to act on it.  Does spreading lies make you feel better about yourself?  Does spreading rumors make you feel better about yourself?  It shouldn’t, the only way it does is because you feel some strange sense of power in tearing down others.  Why not stand up for what is right?  Now I have heard people say they did things because it was the right thing to do.  If you really believe that you should have no problem telling the truth.  How can sticking up for rumors and lies be the right thing to do?  Again, every situation creates three choices, Do Good, Do Nothing or Do Evil.  Choose to do good!

Now, you can leave me comments on why doing nothing or do evil is what you believe is the right thing to do.  I ask you one question.  If you just do nothing, or give into status quo, how does anything change?  Do good, bring about positive change.  I have heard it said, what comes around goes around.  I have heard that we reap what we sow.  What do you want your harvest to yield?  What do you want coming around for you?  Choose to do good!